Bookish Posts & Tags

The Coffee Book Tag

coffee-poems-header-e1429712171910

With everything going on right now, I thought a book tag would be a fun way to start the weekend. I haven’t done one in ages so I was well overdue for it anyway. I had a look at the tags y’all have been doing lately and found this one over on The Wordy Habitat that I knew I just had to do. Because COFFEE ❤ big-blue-divider-hi

1. BLACK: NAME A SERIES THAT’S TOUGH TO GET INTO BUT HAS HARDCORE FANS

Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo71U8HZ0dThL

I’ve mentioned it before, but I’ve had a hard time over the past couple of years getting back into the YA fantasy genre after becoming so burned out on it. Because of that I haven’t (yet) read a bunch of books I see many bloggers constantly rave about- like SOC. I just…yeah. I can’t seem to bring myself to pick the books up. Sorry! Please don’t hurt me.

2. PEPPERMINT MOCHA: NAME A BOOK THAT GETS MORE POPULAR DURING THE WINTER OR A FESTIVE TIME OF YEAR

Little Women by Louisa May Alcott

9781950435098_p0_v2_s1200x630
Christmas wouldn’t be Christmas without Little Women! I’m not a big re-reader of books, but I do see this one get mentioned a lot around Christmas either as a re-read or as a new one. It is a pretty great book afterall.

3. HOT CHOCOLATE: WHAT IS YOUR FAVOURITE CHILDREN’S BOOK?

Miss Nelson is Missing! by Harry Allard51u-72EK34L

It’s seriously hard for me to just name one, but if you’re going to force me to then I would have to go with Miss Nelson is Missing. I absolutely loved this book as a kid and used to think it was so cool my mom knew it by heart (that’s how often I used to make her read it). Viola the Swamp still terrifies me to this day, though.

4. DOUBLE SHOT OF ESPRESSO: NAME A BOOK THAT KEPT YOU ON THE EDGE OF YOUR SEAT FROM START TO FINISH

Leviathan Wakes by James S.A. Corey91npjUXXkzL

OH MY FREAKING GOD THIS BOOK. THIS WHOLE SERIES. I’ve loved all the books, but man that first one was a thrill ride start to finish and instantly made me want more.

The Expanse is seriously the greatest sci-fi series of all time and I’m not just talking about the books. I can never thank the authors enough for putting these phenomenal books out there. They deserve medals.

fb_img_158444131618398285944728231296.jpg

5. STARBUCKS: NAME A BOOK YOU SEE EVERYWHERE

Harry Potter by J.K. Rowling8f8c6821f2059607e85122c6a38cd11c

I mean… do I have to say any more? Look, I can’t even go to a play without seeing Harry Potter 😛

2020-03-05-08-55-19-352

6. THAT HIPSTER COFFEE SHOP: GIVE A BOOK BY AN INDIE AUTHOR A SHOUTOUT

The Betrayal of Ka by Shea R. OliverThe-Betrayal-of-Ka-Cover-512x800

After receiving hands down the best review request ever, I was excited to read this book. I wasn’t sure about it at first, but soon I was swept away by the story and found myself becoming really attached to the main character, Ka. The sequel was released last autumn and as soon as I get a chance I’m going to read it.

Read my review for The Betrayal of Ka here.

7. OOPS! I ACCIDENTALLY GOT DECAF: NAME A BOOK YOU WERE EXPECTING MORE FROM

Where the Crawdads Sing by Delia Owens

Where-the-crawdads-sing (1)
I can see why people went head over heels for the book, but it just didn’t quite get there for me. I’m sure part of the reason is because the audiobook narrator did my head in. She put on these accents that were just so whiny it made me dislike most of the characters.

There’s also the whole “Is the author sorta admitting to that one time she probably did a murder?” thing, too. Not that I necessarily think it’s wrong to go after animal poachers, but it still left a weird taste in my mouth.

8. THE PERFECT BLEND: NAME A BOOK OR SERIES THAT WAS BOTH BITTER AND SWEET BUT ULTIMATELY SATISFYING

Red Rising Trilogy by Pierce BrownPicture4.jpg

I opted to go with a series instead of a book because there are several perfect books I can think of and I’m sure you don’t want to spend hours dealing with a fangirl. I’ll just have to make another post focusing on all those perfect books. Don’t worry, I’ll be sure to include the disclaimer, “Get comfortable, we’ll be here awhile!”

Thinking of a perfectly ended series for this question ended up being a tough one because I’m that reader who holds off on reading the final book in a series because I want it to live on for as long as possible. Also, my experience with series’ finales has usually been a completely unsatisfactory one (looking at you, Veronica Roth).

However, I have to say the Red Rising trilogy ended beautifully. Yes, I know there are more books but they’re basically their own trilogy given that they are set so far after the events of the first three books. Plus they are generally categorized as the Iron Gold Trilogy. I’m really looking forward to reading the next three books, but for now I’m really happy with where we left Darrow & Co at the end of Morning Star. big-blue-divider-hi

So what did you think of my choices? What would be yours? Let me know in the comments! And if you do this tag be sure to link back to me so I can see your answers. 

1 thought on “The Coffee Book Tag”

Leave a comment